The Swarm

IVES FELT ART,  hand dyed felted painting / shawl.  REIS_D20150807JR1;   Contact the studio for rights to upload or publish this photo
IVES FELT ART, hand dyed felted painting / shawl. REIS_D20150807JR1; Contact the studio for rights to upload or publish this photo
IVES FELT ART,  hand dyed felted painting / shawl.  REIS_D20150807JR1;   Contact the studio for rights to upload or publish this photo
IVES FELT ART, hand dyed felted painting / shawl. REIS_D20150807JR1; Contact the studio for rights to upload or publish this photo

 

2. The Swarm: I was hanging my laundry when a swarm of bees flew over me. This piece depicts my favorite fancy dress laundry load. Bees swarm when the hive splits, since they successfully reproduced and there is a new queen. The new queen and her bees are looking for a new home. In this case it was a new hollow tree across the road. You can spot the queen. The scout bees are already at the new tree, while everyone else is getting ready to fly over. They sounded like a jet engine taking off over my head. As you can see, I dropped my basket, since I instinctively ducked, before I realized what I was witnessing. The piece was dyed with cochineal, madder, fustic, fruits, vegetables, wood dye, indigo.

